You are here

Back to top

So B. It (Paperback)

So B. It Cover Image
$7.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Now a major motion picture starring Alfre Woodard, Jessica Collins, John Heard, Jacinda Barrett, Cloris Leachman, and Talitha Bateman—in theaters October 2017!

From acclaimed author Sarah Weeks comes a touching coming-of-age story about a young girl who goes on a cross-country journey to discover the truth about her parents, which the New York Times called "a remarkable novel." Perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead's When You Reach Me and Ali Benjamin's The Thing About Jellyfish.

She doesn't know when her birthday is or who her father is. In fact, everything about Heidi and her mentally disabled mother's past is a mystery. When a strange word in her mother's vocabulary begins to haunt her, Heidi sets out on a cross-country journey in search of the secrets of her past.

Far away from home, pieces of her puzzling history come together. But it isn't until she learns to accept not knowing that Heidi truly arrives.

About the Author


Sarah Weeks has written more than fifty books for young readers. Some of her picture books include Mrs. McNosh Hangs Up Her Wash, Sophie Peterman Tells the Truth!, and Glamourpuss. Her bestselling novel, So B. It, is a feature-length film starring Alfre Woodard and Talitha Bateman. Ms. Weeks visits thousands of students in elementary and middle schools across the country every year. She is also an adjunct professor in the prestigious MFA Writing for Children and Young Adults program at the New School. Sarah lives in Nyack, New York, with her husband, Jim Fyfe, and their dog, Mia. You can visit her online at www.sarahweeks.com.

Praise For…


“A remarkable novel. [Heidi’s] cross-country journey is brave and daring and yields surprising results.”
— New York Times Book Review

“Weeks has a distinctive voice that’s all her own. Her fully dimensional characters are remarkable yet believable [and] the foreshadowing builds to a beautifully satisfying ending. This is lovely writing—real, touching, and pared cleanly down to the essentials.”
— ALA Booklist (starred review)

“Refreshing, offbeat characters. As the riddle of Heidi’s life slowly unfolds, readers will be genuinely touched and surprised.”
— VOYA (starred review)

“The heart of the search for home and history is one that readers will find compelling.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“Readers will pull for and empathize with the likable characters.”
— School Library Journal

“A quick and satisfying tale of love, determination, and the kindness of strangers.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“The novel has enough suspence to draw in mystery fans, while Weeks portrays Heidi’s emotional and physical odyssey with admirable economy and restraint.”
— Horn Book Magazine (Starred Review)

Product Details
ISBN: 9780064410472
ISBN-10: 0064410471
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: October 4th, 2005
Pages: 288
Language: English